Chapman County Codes
These three-letter abbreviations identify English counties (pre-1974):

BDF Bedfordshire

BRK Berkshire

BKM Buckinghamshire

CAM Cambridgeshire

CHS Cheshire

CON Cornwall

CUL Cumberland

DBY Derbyshire

DEV Devon

DOR Dorset

DUR Durham

ESS Essex

GLS Gloucestershire

HAM Hampshire

HEF Herefordshire

HRT Hertfordshire

HUN Huntingdonshire

KEN Kent

LAN Lancashire

LEI Leicestershire

LIN Lincolnshire

LND London (city only)

MDX Middlesex

NFK Norfolk

NTH Northamptonshire

NBL Northumberland

NTT Nottinghamshire

OXF Oxfordshire

RUT Rutland

SAL Shropshire (Salop)

SOM Somerset

STS Staffordshire

SFK Suffolk

SRY Surrey

SSX Sussex

WAR Warwickshire

WES Westmorland

WIL Wiltshire

WOR Worcestershire

YKS Yorkshire

ERY Yorkshire-East Riding

NRY Yorkshire-North Riding

WRY Yorkshire-West Riding

Share |
Did you enjoy this article?
Please share it!
Recent Blog Posts »
Recent Articles »

Free Genealogy Downloads

Historical Maps of Europe Premium Collection
When you buy the Historical Maps of Europe Premium Collection, you'll get the brand new Family Tree Historical Maps Book: Europe, as well as an assortment of other incredible tools to trace you ancestors back to the home country and visualize the world in which they lived--in full color.
Only available in March, this collection has a retail value of $197.95, but is yours this month only for $59.99!

They're going fast - get yours today!

©  F+W All rights reserved.