6 Historical Irish Jurisdictions Genealogists Should Know About

By Family Tree Editors

Sign up for the Family Tree Newsletter Plus, you’ll receive our 10 Essential Genealogy Research Forms PDF as a special thank you!

Get Your Free Genealogy Forms

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

As in most genealogy research, you’ll need to know where your ancestors lived when you’re using records of Ireland. Try to learn the names of these jurisdictions for your ancestors:

1. Townland

The smallest civil geographic locality, similar to a neighborhood, the townland is the primary division in land surveys, such as Griffith’s Valuation. Townland names are often repeated in multiple parishes and counties. For example, Ireland has no less than seven townlands called Ballyadam: two in County Cork, two in County Limerick, and one each in counties Down, Waterford and Wexford. If you’re not sure of a townloand’s location, try searching here.

2. Parish

The parish is the organizational unit for Catholic church and Church of Ireland records, which are key to tracing family history before civil registration began in 1864. Both churches use parishes for administrative purposes, but they don’t necessarily use the same boundaries. Typically, Roman Catholic parishes cover wider geographical areas. Church of Ireland parishes are also referred to as civil parishes.

3. Poor Law Union

These unions were created in 1838 to administer relief to the poor. By knowing the PLU your ancestor lived in, you can find him in Ireland’s civil birth, marriage and death records.

4. District Electoral Division

Townlands were grouped into district electoral divisions (DEDs) for purposes of administering censuses. Several DEDs make up a civil registration district.

5. Barony

These county subdivisions are no longer used, though some records are organized by barony within the county.

6. County

Many record groups are organized by county and then by jurisdictions within that county. Ireland has 32 historical counties; six in Northern Ireland and 26 in the Republic of Ireland.

From the July/August 2015 Family Tree Magazine.
Last updated: March 2023

Related Reads

If you have Irish roots, you’ve probably at least heard of the counties in Ireland. Consult this map of Ireland and its counties to figure out which your ancestor lived in.
Researching your Irish family history can be difficult. Track down your Irish ancestors in civil records using this poor law unions map.